Pulp Fiction, Minus John Travolta

Lately I’ve found myself spending hours browsing pulp fiction covers on Google Images. I don’t claim to be an expert on pulp fiction – I know next to nothing about the pulps, actually – but sometimes the covers can just be so good. Here are some of my favourites.

The dates listed are approximate – sorry, it’s not my fault the Internet lies.


Other Worlds: Science Stories (May 1951)
Is that supposed to be a doll or a person? Never mind what it is – why is that giant frog groping it?


The Feminists (1971)
95 cents? No way – this cover is priceless.


La Muerte Baila la Samba (unknown)
When I first saw this cover, I thought the woman was wearing a fruit hat and the skeleton was hungrily eyeing it. I was a little bit disappointed when I realized that this was not the case.


The Little People (1966)
Nazi leprechauns. Enough said.


Do Not Murder Before Christmas (1949)
Look at the Santa in the background. Look into its eyes for a good, long time. Only then will you realize how truly terrifying this cover is.

Can’t get enough pulp covers? Check out the BookScans Database for hundreds more.

Have something to say?

