Book History, Illuminated: The Podcast!

Well, readers, I’ve gone and done it. After screaming the idea out into the Twitterverse and getting surprisingly positive reception, I’ve made the first of what I hope will be many (or at least, you know, a few) episodes of a book history podcast.

Here’s my attempt. It’s called “What the heck is book history and why should you care?” Basically, it’s me trying to shut up all the people I meet who look at me with confusion and disdain when I tell them what I study.

I know, I know, I sound pretty uncomfortable in this highly scripted episode – it was, I admit, more of a test run than anything, and I wanted to make sure I didn’t miss any super important background information. I’m hoping that future episodes won’t be so scripted. Heck, I might even get guests. Wanna be on the podcast? Get in touch!

And, of course, please let me know if I’ve gotten any information wrong in this episode. The whole point of this podcast is to start a conversation. I am by no means an expert on anything, and am always hoping to continue learning myself.

You can listen to the podcast on SoundCloud, or on iTunes if you’re using iOS. People who know me in the physical world: be warned. This is the slowest you’ll ever hear me speak. Ever.

Have something to say?

